Bon Voyage! Recycled style!

So you have a friend leaving the “sunny” UK for a year of teaching in Shanghai. What do you give her for a leaving present? What can she not buy when she is there?

Before she went, she had a de-clutter at her house. Some things were sent to charity and some were thrown away (recycled of course). Amongst this clear-out I found a gem…

Image

This is a rucksack her mam had years ago. I’m going to say in the 90’s and it was a holiday purchase. So there are good memories within this. So what better item to revamp for her.

As she’s going away to teach, she will need her laptop with her, a lot! So ping! She needs a laptop cover. Not just any, but one that means something and that will make family seem closer than 6000 miles away.

Image

I started by texting her randomly asking what size her laptop was as I was thinking about getting the same one. It worked! Now to get on with it.

Image

So I draft the pattern for it, 0.5cm larger than the laptop and then seam allowance.

Cut 2 pieces for the lining, i chose leopard from a onsie that I have already started to recycle.

Image

I have kept the lining the same size as the outer so that it fits nice and snug. All of this is stitched by hand.

I cut the 2 pieces for the main cover out of the main part of the bag. I’ve kept the straps and fasteners for future projects.

Image

Image

The button i used was found on a window ledge whilst I was out shopping and the elastic I used to fasten it up was from the dress that I cut up in my first blog “Love the fabric, hate the dress? Recycle it!”

Image

And judging by her reaction and her little face, I thing she liked it. I hope you do too!

Image

For enquiries about bespoke makes please get in touch:-

threadoverheels@outlook.com

Leave a comment