Unwanted trousers? What about a new waistcoat?

My partner has out grown his graduation suit, however he only wore the trousers  a few times and the fabric is in excellent condition.

IMG_4851

My idea? My fathers 70th birthday was coming up and it was a better plan to make a unique present rather that buying something that everyone else can get. He was and is still a Teddy Boy. He loves his shirts, waistcoats and jackets. He always looks smart. So with the fabric I have from the trousers I am going to make a waistcoat.

IMG_4861

So I have unpicked all the seams and I have been left with quite a lot of fabric, the trousers were almost fully lined so I have enough for the inside and the back panels.

IMG_4840

I have done a fashion illustration for the waistcoat, this is also a gift to him also.

I traced the pattern off my partners old waistcoat so I had a basic shape to work with, my dad has a pretty similar build to him. I only had to make some small tweaks for it to fit him.

IMG_5811

The trousers weren’t quite enough fabric so I used another pair or Darren’s old smart trousers, this time grey, which wasn’t a bad idea for the contrasting colour.

IMG_5837

And here it is.

IMG_6036

I think the brown and the grey work perfect together (ignore the creases).

All i’m waiting for now is some recycled buttons and then the gift is finished.

And here they are… my lovely Patsy has come through. She’s been recycling her buttons from her old items.

IMG_6082

I have gone for 4 brown recycled buttons from this amazing collection.

I decided to go for a contrasting colour thread for the button holes, to enable for them to stand out.

 Just need to press and it’s ready to wear.

IMG_6920

Bazinga! My dad is going to look very dapper in this.

IMG_6921

One thought on “Unwanted trousers? What about a new waistcoat?

Leave a comment