Love the fabric, hate the dress? Recycle it!

To create new pieces of clothing from of old items. By making new additions, these garments will re-new and re-live. These will be bespoke items every single time.

And I just love this fabric, but the style of this dress is just so unflattering. So i will transform this into something I will wear again.

  Image

Instead of clogging up your overcrowded wardrobe, spare room or even ending up at the land fill, lets rejuvenate and give them another chance. This fabric will see the light of day once again.

 Image

It’s time to give this old dress some life back. So i start by unpicking every seam, I want as much fabric from this as possible. I even have some elastic from the sleeves to use on another project.

 Image

 So what am I going to make? With all projects I like to keep a sketch book from start to finish, this includes designs and research.

IMG_3520

Eureka!!!  Well I have a shirt which I live in, it is quite old now, so my plan is to make myself another using this recycled fabric.

Below are the technical flats for the shirt.

  IMG_4791      IMG_4829

IMG_4630

I have traced the pattern from my shirt with the hope it will be just as good. Eek! Along with this I have done a final fashion illustration.

     IMG_4787                IMG_4815

So… on with the toile!

It’ll be made out of calico, this is the time to make mistakes, rather than using the recycled material.

I am hand stitching this toile as I have a knee injury and can not use my sewing machine. Which is very annoying. However the hand stitching isn’t looking too bad. See for yourself, below is the collar done so far.

IMG_5381                                 IMG_5383

The toile is almost done underneath, the collar is attached and I have chalked on the alterations for the arm holes.

IMG_5583

As I have altered the arm holes on the toile, it needs to be transferred on to the pattern.

IMG_5641

Once I transferred the adjustments over to the final pattern, it was time to place the pattern and cut the pieces.

Eek, no going back!!!

IMG_5687

For the collar I have interfaced it as the fabric was quite flimsy and I wanted the collar to stand quite firm.

IMG_5697

I had some old beaded bracelets that I haven’t worn for a long time, so I stitched them on to the collar once turned the right way round.

IMG_5740

I have sewed the bodice together. Ensuring that the fit is correct before I go any further.

IMG_5718

The button band is added next before the collar gets added on.

IMG_5767

As usual recycled buttons have been used on this recycled item. And it’s finished!

IMG_5800

Just a little recap of where it started and what it is now.

IMG_5804

Leave a comment